While New Hampshire law does not require that you purchase liability coverage, it does require that if you do purchase auto insurance you must also purchase Uninsured Motorist Coverage (“UM coverage”). … In New Hampshire, UM coverage must be provided at limits equal to your liability coverage.
What states do not require uninsured motorist coverage?
New Hampshire, the only state that does not require auto liability insurance, requires drivers to show that they are able to provide sufficient funds in the case of an at-fault accident (i.e., financial responsibility).
Does the state of New Hampshire require auto insurance?
New Hampshire Auto Insurance Law
Unlike almost all other states, New Hampshire does not require auto insurance for all drivers. However, the state does require drivers to cover costs of bodily injury and property damage for an accident they cause. Of course, the best way to cover those costs is to carry insurance.
Do most states require uninsured motorist coverage?
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: UM/UIM are required in almost half of states.
Does New Hampshire have a mandatory insurance law?
Financial Responsibility > Insurance Requirements/SR-22. New Hampshire has no mandatory insurance law. The Division of Motor Vehicles strongly recommends and urges all owners of motor vehicles to carry standard liability and property damage insurance. … “Proof of financial responsibility is required.”
What happens if I reject uninsured motorist coverage?
What happens if I reject uninsured motorist coverage? Some states require companies to automatically include uninsured motorist coverage, and drivers can reject it when receiving a car insurance quote. If you reject this coverage, you simply lose coverage for accidents caused by uninsured drivers.
Is it better to have collision or uninsured motorist?
It is better to have collision insurance because it applies in more situations than uninsured motorist coverage. Collision insurance can be used to repair or replace the policyholder’s vehicle after any accident, regardless of fault, while uninsured motorist insurance only applies if an uninsured driver was at fault.
Is NH An at fault state?
New Hampshire Is A “Fault” State. The process for determining fault in a car accident depends in part upon the law of the state in which the accident occurred. … In these states, a driver must file a claim with his or her own insurance provider, regardless of who caused the accident to happen.
Is health insurance required in New Hampshire?
As of January 1, 2014, most New Hampshire citizens are required to have health coverage: People already covered by Medicare, Medicaid, or most job-based health coverage do not need to buy new coverage. … Buy individual health insurance coverage in the private market (outside the Marketplace).
Is car insurance expensive in New Hampshire?
Car insurance is relatively cheap in New Hampshire. The average auto insurance rate in New Hampshire is $1,083 per year — 24.1% less than the US average. But car insurance rates are dictated by more than just state lines.
How much uninsured motorist coverage should I have?
We recommend a minimum of $100,000 in UM coverage.
We’ve discussed in detail why you should get uninsured motorist insurance coverage to make sure that you’re covered if you’re hit by somebody who is either uninsured or doesn’t have much liability insurance coverage.
Why is uninsured motorist coverage important?
Uninsured motorist coverage helps you pay for damages caused by a driver who doesn’t have car insurance. If you’re hurt or your car is damaged in a crash caused by such a driver, this coverage will help pay for costs, up to the limits in your policy.
Do you really need uninsured motorist coverage if you have health insurance?
But, you can have the best health insurance in the world and you should still get UM coverage because health insurance only pays for Medical treatment. … If the at-fault party doesn’t have insurance, or enough insurance to compensate you, Uninsured Motorists coverage pays for lost wages and pain and suffering.